Waking Up. By David Reid Otey September 2014

I love waking up. Not just every morning when I open my eyes after the long energizing nap of the night. But all those other times, too. When I wake up to the right answers that took a little more time to seek. When I wake up to fact that I can change something I thought was set in stone. When I wake up to who and what I really have in my life by taking a closer look beyond the clutter of being too busy.

I wake up through other’s thoughts when I listen to what they say without interrupting them. I wake up when I read or hear of the tragic results of someone else’s battle with depression. I wake up when an elderly man who does simple magic shows tells me he dove into it after a friend died of bone cancer without ever trying for or realizing his dream of  gold mining.

I woke up when Anthony Robbins said, ”try this”. I woke up when the voices of Jim Rohn, Mel Robbins, Brendon Burchard, Zig Ziglar, Marie Forleo, Daniel Pink, Jon Acuff, David Allen, Micheal J. Gelb, Susan Jeffers, Thom Rutledge and a team of other authors and speakers gave me the ideas and encouragement I sought.

I was shaken awake at times when my mom became ensnared by Alzheimer’s, and when my dad’s paranoid schizophrenia overtook his outlook on life and shut down the hopes of him ever playing his violin for the public in philharmonic orchestras ever again.  When an art teacher coming back to school from lunch leaned down at the wrong moment to fetch something from the floorboard of his car and ran a stop sign to enter the terminal path of an oncoming semi trailer truck, I woke up.  When my school where I work cancelled a day to have a teacher’s funeral at the school, and all of us teachers were present at the funeral and then to help seat and serve the family for their meal in the school, I woke up.

I woke up when my kids were born and I held them.  I wake up every single day I see my grand children. I wake up when I try, when I listen, when I contribute, when I hope and dream and wonder. I think that is what life is meant to be. We are born to wake up to creation, to love and joy, to peace and wonder, to the gifts we have within us that are meant to be discovered, developed and shared  for the connection and for the good of all people. I believe in God because there has to be a source of all this wonder and that source has to wake us all up for the best of anything and everything to be accomplished. What will you wake up to today ?         The end for now. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Waking Up. By David Reid Otey September 2014

Leave a Reply

